How Do You Cross The Room?

by Peggy Sue Wells

“Cheshire Puss,” asked Alice, “Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”

“That depends a good deal on where you want to go,” said the Cat.

“I don’t much care where,” said Alice.

“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.

Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

What do you want to be sure you do before the end of your life? What is it you don’t want to regret not doing?

People interviewed in the sunset of their lives commonly express two regrets; that they did not take more risks, and they didn’t do more for Christ.

I thought I was bold and brave, at least capable and responsible, until I was in a room full of people and we were challenged to cross the room from one side to the other. Simple enough, except each of us had to cross in a different manner. For instance, if one person walked, no one else could use walking as a method to cross the room. As walking, skipping, running, hopping, walking backwards, and the other obvious ideas were quickly employed, I pushed my way to the front of the line so I could get across before all the methods of room-crossing were used up and I was stranded. Left behind. Another example of others being successful while I missed out.

“Who scrambled to the front of the line because you were afraid of running out of mechanisms to cross the room?”

I raised my hand.

“That’s a scarcity mentality,” the facilitator explained. “Fear that there is not enough.”

Fear that I was not enough.

That hour, 200 people crossed the room using 200 different methods. I’ve done this exercise many more times and now I run to the back of the line. Even as the last person, I always find a fresh way to travel to the other side of the room because I’ve learned that there is no limit. No scarcity. Several times I have been challenged to cross the room without using my hands or feet. What would you do? I can immediately think of a dozen ways to accomplish that goal.

As long as I thought there was not enough—not enough money, love, opportunities, careers, happiness, hope, fun, friends, ideas —I did not live full out. I limited myself even though God promised abundance.

Gathering with other artists at Gideon Media Arts Conference affirms that there is no scarcity of creativity. And there are unlimited ways to cross the room and bring ideas to reality.

Life is a team sport.

The arts are a team sport.

One plus one equals ten when Gideon participants come together and share their individual strengths, creating stories that touch hearts. The conference environment naturally lends itself to networking. An exchange of talents and counsel.

Shedding the scarcity mentality is like infusing my veins with jet fuel. “There is not enough (money, time, talent – you fill in the blank)” transforms to “How can I make this happen?” Opportunities like Gideon, to connect and belong, broadens our possibilities and inspires us to be abundant.

We are most like Christ when we forgive and when we create.

“In the beginning God created …” (Gen. 1:1).

 

Gideon Media Arts Conference alum, PeggySue Wells is the author of more than a dozen books. She writes screenplays, edits, and ghostwrites.

One thought on “How Do You Cross The Room?

  1. visit us

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

